Decisons, decisions… Wedding Date and Venue Are Set!

Happy Tuesday everyone!! This week has flown by so far, and I sure hope that we can continue this trend.. 🙂

I wrote last night that I had finally had some wedding news.. I mailed in a deposit check yesterday so I figured it’s quite real and I should post an update. Of course 45 minutes after I published that the coordinator (Tamara) e-mailed me and asked me whether or not I wanted to change the date..

I’d say there are two big decisions to make in early wedding planning… venue and date. Relatively easy, right? Not if you’re me apparently! ha!

The last time I posted about the venue I thought I had everything all decided. T and I originally wanted a September wedding, but everyone in their Mother kept telling us that it would be too hot. So after much debate we decided to “move” (nothing was really committed to it) our wedding date from September 20th, 2014 to October 4th, 2014. It’s only a week, but it made everyone happy so whatever.

I waited a week before I contacted our top wedding venue choice to ask about the date. In the time I was waiting I started to question the venue and whether or not I wanted to do something more formal. (T indulges me and goes along on whatever I want wedding wise as long as he can have his one thing). When I was questioning things we went out and looked at three more venues..

The first place was pretty far out (45 minutes) but it was amazing! T and I both loved it.

It was originally built as a huge custom home, but when the housing market bottomed out here it went back to the bank as a foreclosure. The current owner bought it and made a bunch of changes and turned it into the wedding venue it is now. The venue was a little more than we wanted to spend and a little further away than we would have preferred, but it was so homey and beautiful!

PicMonkey Collage

Pagota where the ceremony would be (look at the mountains!).

PicMonkey Collage

Reception area.

After we walked though everything I asked what dates she had available.. and she flipped straight to 2015! I understand why they are booked out, but dang it! (I was also confused why she didn’t mention that they didn’t have any 2014 spaces left, because it was in my e-mail!)

The first of the other two places we looked at was terrible.. we didn’t even get out of the car haha. The second was pretty, but waaayy too formal for us. It was priced formally too!

Sooo…. I worried about it and worried about it and then decided to just go back to our original date (9/20) at Pioneer.

We told our families 2 days ago and I put the deposit check in the mail. T’s mom was still mad that it was in September, but his Dad told us it’s going to be a beautiful day and we shouldn’t worry about it.

So deposit was in the mail, families told and a decision was made! I felt so relieved lol.

Annnnd then Tamara e-mailed me and told me that October 18th, 2014 had opened up.

At a glance it all seemed to work out perfect! The lawn will be more established and it will have a few more weeks to cool off.. but before I said yes I decided to check the Farmer’s Almanac. There are supposed to be showers that weekend..

Of course I started to worry again.. I asked T what he thought but he was so tired from work that he was falling asleep at like 7:30. I know he was trying to care, but he just wants a damn date. (and I don’t blame him!)

If it does rain we have a back up plan for the ceremony and reception space, but I worry about getting them decorated in time..

(Can you see the trend here? HINT- I worry. a lot.)

Tamara wanted an answer that night (another bride wanted whichever date I didn’t), but I asked if I could e-mail her first thing in the morning and she said yes.

I talked to the BFF and thought about it and I don’t think the date would have opened if it weren’t meant to be.. Do you think I did the right thing??

Yes, I know I sound like a total lunatic. I also know that things won’t go perfectly, but I also don’t want to be set up for trouble!

If you’re married- What’s the one thing you would change about your wedding if you could?

If you’re single and plan on getting married- What is the one thing you want in your wedding and won’t settle for?

If you’re single (or not) and you don’t plan on getting married- Congratulations! You’re saving yourself a lot of stress! haha!

Until tomorrow.. 🙂

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Decisons, decisions… Wedding Date and Venue Are Set!

Leave a Reply

