Weekend Recap.. A Day Late

Happy Tuesday everyone!

I am such a rebel- posting a weekend recap on Tuesday afternoon. I impress myself 🙂

Last weekend was so much fun, but definitely one of those weekends that you need another weekend after the fact to recover from. Does any one else enjoy lazy weekends as much as I do? As in you need a minimum of one a month?

Between commuting, working two jobs, maintaining friendships and the normal day to day stuff I just never get to housework on weekdays. I try to clean as I go, but I NEED those weekends to catch up! Who has the willpower to deep clean grout on a Wednesday night?? Not me! (I wish I did though!)

Friday started out pretty low. I drove 40 miles to attend my Great Aunt’s funeral. She was ill and we knew it was coming, but it still didn’t make it much easier. After the funeral I went and picked up T and I’s race packets for the COLOR ME RAD. After that 20 mile trek I headed into my other job. Luckily for me Friday traffic was pretty light so I made it in in 40 minutes. After work, I spent rest of the evening cleaning, meal planning, grocery shopping and running other random errands.

Saturday was the fun day! We got up and drove out to Goodyear to participate in the Color Me Rad 5k. We underestimated how long it would take it get there and we ended up getting to the race three minutes after we were supposed to start running. The race times were a little confusing- I signed up for the 9:30 wave originally. About 2 weeks before the race I got an e-mail saying that all the waves would be starting at 10. Then I got another e-mail saying go with you original time. Then I decided to check out the times online and they had them scheduled for 9:20 and 9:40. All the confusion really worked to our advantage though- we fell in with what I think was the 9:40 wave (who started early).

photo

Starting Line from a distance.

This was the first color run type run that I have participated in, and I have to say out of the 5 races I have done it was definitely my favorite. I didn’t train much (aka not at all), but I surprised myself and ran a good portion of it. T is/was recovering from a chest cold, so for the first time ever I was even faster than him :). I’ll take what I can get here people!

All of the runners were excited and all of the volunteers were great. The police who were working the event were all cool and cheering everyone on as well. There were a ton of adorable kids (ahhhhhh!) One of my favorite parts of the run was when one of the motor cops let some little girls “color bomb” him and then let her and another little one sit on his bike for a photo- op. Community relations was out in full force and I was loving it.

photo-7

ResizedImage951384209414761-1

photo-2

After the race we rushed home to clean ourselves up and wait for the cable guy. Did I mention that have cable again? I am a little too excited about it I think! haha. I’ve missed watching my trash tv… I’ve been referring to myself as (pop) culturally irrelevant, and [maybe] sadly it really wasn’t an exaggeration.

The cable guy was actually supposed to come last weekend, but Cox forgot to put the work order in so it got pushed to this weekend. My lovely mom was kind enough to come hang out at our place for a bit in case we didn’t make it back in time. We were luckily that she was willing too, because he beat us by about 10 minutes.

The tech that came out and installed it was really strange.. When T and I pulled up in the driveway he completely glared at us and grunted at T when he asked him if he would like a water bottle. The guy was in and out of the house, so we just let him go about doing his own thing. T was in the backyard and me and my mom were in the kitchen. She was sitting with me while I did dishes, and after 15 or so minutes I realized the dude was just sitting on out couch watching Saturday afternoon football. He didn’t leave until he got a call from his next customer asking where he was. The whole thing was sooo weird!

After the weird cable guy left T and I hung out for an hour or so and then it was time to get ready for Cactus League.  Cactus League is T’s company event for all the employees who have had outstanding numbers that quarter. T has made the last nine events, but didn’t make this one due to being responsible for a new team. The company always goes all out and makes sure that the events are amazing. Luckily for me I have made friends with pretty much all his coworkers and I have the best fiance ever. Soo I ended up going to T’s company event with J and E while Trent hung out at home and watched UFC fights un-harassed by me.

photo-5

My man date and I. Is it just me or does this photo remind anyone else of a modern American Gothic?? (Maybe I should mention that I am sitting in a rocking chair?) haha!

photo-4

My lady date and I.

photo-3

I always look like the Jolly Green Giant next to cute, petite E.

So T was watching UFC.. or so I thought. One of our friends Grandmother’s recently passed away and I asked her to shoot me a text when she felt like hanging out because I haven’t gotten to see her in the month or so since it happened. While I was out she sent me a text saying she was out. I asked her where and she said with my husband! Ha! It was then that I found out T doesn’t like UFC as much as he thought and got bored so he decided to go out.

After the event I met G, T and T’s family out at the grill that they all frequent. It was a fun night, but there were definitely too many drinks involved for my old [term used loosely] body. I was super excited to see G though, and glad to see that she was doing relatively okay.

Sunday morning I woke up bright and early at 8am (ha!) to put together the brunch I invited my mom and Amy to. We had a lovely girly morning of brunch and bridal magazines.

After brunch T and I had a class at a local painting studio. The class was byob, but we were pretty boozed out from the night before. About halfway through the class I realized that T is actually a really good artist. I also realized that maybe I should have brought booze, because I suck at painting and I’m pretty sure it would have only improved my painting! haha

photo-1

T’s painting. I’ll share my weight on the internet, but not my lack of artistic skills.

On Friday T won basketball tickets through work to a Phoenix Suns game, so after our class we headed out to that. The tickets were pretty much court side and included full access to the Blue Moon Club. This weekend was packed and unbelievably fun, but not good diet-wise.

photo-6

I know it’s Tuesday, but how was everyone’s weekend? Good I hope!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Weekend Recap.. A Day Late

  1. So much to comment on!

    1) I have a cleaning lady for JUST that reason. I have no time. She comes over 2 weeks and costs us $110/month. Worth EVERY penny.

    2) You are GORGEOUS, fyi.

    3) T is a very talented artist! That would look beautiful on the right wall!

    4) My husband and I won tickets to a basketball game this weekend too! Ours is just a local Canadian pro league, but still fun! 🙂

    • *I’m pretty cheap so I thought I’d just do everything myself.. after a year in the house I think I may have to admit defeat though. Are you there when your lady comes? I’d feel weird about being there, but also weird about not being there I think!
      *You are too sweet- thank you Shannon!!
      *Thanks! The right wall is the tricky part 😉 This was my favorite out of all the options to paint, but I’m still not sure where to put it.. The other options were thinks like wine bottles and other random objects!
      *That’s so awesome- I hope you guys had fun!!!

Leave a Reply

