Vacation Recap: A Picture Heavy Colorado Trip Post

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

Just a warning.. it is going to be picture heavy and content light. Sorry I’m not sorry.

It’s a week late, what do y’all expect?? haha!

photo-8

Looking out our rental window

Crested Butte is soo amazing. I really wish I could live there. Well, in the summer at least. On snow heavy years they have 420″  average… so summer it is.

One of the things I love most about it is there is so much to do outside. Hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, walking trails, bird observing, flower observing, rafting, zip lining, boating, para sailing, para gliding, water skiing, quadding, camping.. literally just about any outdoor activity you can think of they offer. Everyone there is so healthy. I think it helps to have amazing views to motivate you to get off your butt!

photo-17

Enjoying some river time

Last year was the first year we took the dog with us. She absolutely HATED the water. We forced her in a little, and then she saw us messing around in it and decided maybe it wasn’t so bad after all.

This year she hopped right in (she still dislikes the pool though). Her new trick is begging for rocks.. she’s such a weirdo.

She also decided that she is a search and rescue dog. We threw a few sticks for her (she normally doesn’t care to fetch..spoiled) and she would immediately go grab them and put them on the shore. We were teasing her so we started throwing bigger and bigger sticks/logs. By about 30 minutes later she was running up and down the river pulling logs out! It was too funny. Well, until she stole a little boy’s boat– that wasn’t nice of her. lol

PicMonkey Collage

Goofy dog..

We also went rafting.. I don’t have the pics with me, but I will try to post them when I get home. We just did the granny ride, but it was still fun. 🙂 I want to do the kayaking down the river next year.

photo-24

Cowboy on horseback, using his dog to bring in a cow.

The setting is mostly rural there, so there are lots of cows. My dad kept trying to get me to let Lori chase the cows.. I don’t know how mean cows are though- and she definitely wouldn’t know what she was doing. So no cow chasing for her.

photo-28

We took the pups up to the college and ran around on the practice field. I almost went to WSC, and I have spent a fair amount of time on their campus. The one thing that really stands out about the tour I took was when the guide said that their football team isn’t usually very good. BUT they have a major home team advantage when other teams come to play them because the altitude of their fields. haha!

photo-25

The speck down right is my 6′ tall dad..

I took this picture standing at the top of a tall hill on top of the practice field (up near their real field). The practice field is higher up the hill than most of the school…

photo-26

Don’t mind the squinty-ness

Lori found her inner love of fetching after all..

PicMonkey Collage1

But I think the altitude got to her a little bit too. She only chased it for like 10 minutes and then was exhausted.

Tired enough, in fact, that my dad thought she needed to be carried to the car.

PicMonkey Collage3

Happy dog. Sad Dog. Happy Dog.

photo-6

Lorelei at lunch.

Another thing I really love about Crested Butte/Gunnison- they are so dog friendly.

(Yes, I realize I sound like a psycho-dog obsessed person..)

Gunnison is small town, USA. So of course we had to hit up the Walmart.

photo-7

Admiring how my ring and manicure paired with the lovely survival bracelet.

While we were in Gunnison my mom surprised me with a present. She found a toy stuffed dog that looked exactly like Lori.

PicMonkey Collage10

It was laying around the house all week and everyone kept mistaking it for Lori. (Obviously at a glance).

____

We also went on a horseback ride. This is something we do every year, but this year was a little different because it was raining. and COLD. That being said it was still a neat experience.

IMG_20130807_103112_142

Mist rolling in

IMG_20130807_103108_447

IMG_20130807_094441_637

Bear claw marks..

PicMonkey Collage4

It was pretty rainy for the art festival this year as well. It was a bit of a let down because there were fewer artists/vendors there, but we still had a nice time.

photo-10

We spent probably 3 hours sitting around talking on the outside patio of the pizza place. There was plenty of people watching to do..

IMG_20130803_142918_335

I plotted how to steal this cutie..

photo-4

She looks like my first dog, Heidi.

We took evening drives to go look at neighborhoods, and saw some animals while we were out.

PicMonkey Collage5

Property taxes are $20,000/year on an EMPTY LOT!! Ekkk!!

photo-12

I named her Lady Marmalade.

I’m pretty sure she would have let me pet her if I tried..

This is the main reason I could never be a hunter.

I want to make EVERYTHING a pet.

I do eat meat though, so I feel like a hypocrite. :-/

We also “discovered” The Sweet Spot this year. It’s definitely the neatest bar in town.

I wish I would have taken more pictures of the surroundings, but it was a 1930’s Parisian lounge.

Think lots of silk, velvet and jewel tones with a ..interesting/eclectic twist

photo-5

They had a whole living room scene on the ceiling. It was complete with armchair, blanket, book, ottoman, side table, accessories.. all glued to the ceiling.

They also had an ice cream counter, candy counter, arcade and HUGE beautiful hand carved bar.

PicMonkey Collage7

There owners also had a mixologist come in and design their drink menu. Yum.

PicMonkey Collage8

Pretty sure the crayons were intended for kids.. oopsie.

photo-34

There may have also been some shenanigans (thanks to the awesome drinks) when we got home.

One use for extra fruit..

Luckily there is yet another thing I love about Crested Butte- free city bus/shuttles

photo-3

We ended up at The Sweet Spot probably 3-4 times, including for part of T’s birthday celebration. His celebration also included pizza, and a long beautiful drive up to Emerald Lake.

IMG_20130807_182242_245

I look like a stereotypical Japanese tourist.

Also not wearing make up. Sorry T. Blame hippie Colorado 🙂

PicMonkey Collage9

Emerald Lake.

IMG_20130807_191750_317

Pit stop for pictures on the drive back to town.

IMG_20130807_191718_745

All in all it was such an amazing trip. I’m already anxious to go back next year 🙂

photo-37

Lori on the car ride home. She had almost an entire bench seat to herself, and yet she chose to sit on top of all the luggage.

Okay then dog.

Did anyone else get to take any vacations this summer? Tell me about them!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Vacation Recap: A Picture Heavy Colorado Trip Post

    • Haha, it is. Good memory! It’s been awhile since she’s been in the media too.

      Thanks, that is good to hear! She does make up a ridiculous amount of the content on this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

